Featured Stories

Visionary Donors

Des Moines Alumnae Sorors Recognized With Presidential Service Award

Sorors Nyra Bottley and June Owens received President Obama’s Volunteer Service Awards at the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Drum Major of Service Award Program on Wednesday, January 15, 2014 in Des Moines, Iowa. Sorors Bottley and Owens received their award along with other individuals and organizations that provide service to the Des Moines community.

Soror Bottley was recognized for her service to the youth of Des Moines. She has served as the chair of the Dr. Betty Shabazz Delta Academy program for the Des Moines Alumnae Chapter for the past three years. Through her involvement with the Des Moines Chapter of the Links, Soror Bottley planned a poster art contest for more than 50 students at Edmunds Elementary School and the Oakridge Neighborhood.

Soror Owens became an ordained minister in 2011 and has since founded a communications ministry at her church, St. Paul A.M.E. Additionally, she serves as a Vacation Bible School teacher. Soror Owens has provided service to the Des Moines community as a board member for the YMCA of Greater Des Moines. She has also provided service to organizations such as the Junior League and the Des Moines Playhouse.

The Des Moines Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. served as a sponsor of the event, along with the Iota Zeta Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Des Moines Area Community College/Evelyn K. Davis Center for Working Families, Des Moines Branch of the NAACP, The Des Moines Chapter of the Links, Incorporated, and the Des Moines Chapter of Jack and Jill of America.

Des Moines Alumnae Chapter Participates in Big Brothers Big Sisters Adopt-A-Family Program

The Des Moines Alumnae Chapter participated in the annual Adopt-A-Family project, sponsored by Big Brothers Big Sisters of Central Iowa. Over 70 families were adopted by individuals, businesses and local organizations during the holiday season and presented with their gifts in December 2013.
The family of seven adopted by the Des Moines Alumnae Chapter received many items on their wish list, including clothes, shoes, toys, coloring books, teddy bears and dish sets for their household. Members of the chapter were on hand to present the items to the family at the Big Brothers Big Sisters of Central Iowa office on December 17.

Soror Angela Franklin Honored at History Makers Gala by the African American Museum of Iowa

Soror Dr. Angela Franklin was honored at the History Makers Gala, presented by the African American Museum of Iowa in Cedar Rapids, Iowa on Thursday, September 26, 2013.  Soror Franklin currently serves as the president of Des Moines University and is the first African American woman to serve in such a role at a medical/health sciences university.

“I was honored to be selected as one of the four African American
History Makers this year.  It was a pleasant surprise when I received
the call and I am greatly appreciative of the award and recognition,” Soror Franklin said.

Members of the Des Moines Alumnae Chapter also attended the celebration in honor of Soror Franklin and other honorees.  “I was thrilled to have many of my sisters from the Des Moines Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta there to share in my celebration,” she said.

From Left to Right (in photo)
Soror Sandra Bell
Soror Vallery Griffis
Soror Veronica Sims
Soror Renee Hardman
Soror Carline Phillips
Soror Valencia McCown
Soror Angela Franklin
Soror Frances Colston
Soror MaryLynne Jones
Soror Catherine Williams
Soror Ronnie Cyrus-Jackson

Additional photo
Soror Franklin with Michael Kates, African American Museum of Iowa Executive Director